All India Trinamool Congress Logo

All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

President: Mamata Banerjee

Basic Info

About,All India Trinamool Congress

The All India Trinamool Congress ( AITC, TMC or Trinamool Congress) ,is an Indian national political party based in West Bengal, Tripura, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh. Founded on 1 January 1998 as a breakaway faction of the Indian National Congress, the party is led by its founder and current Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee. Prior to the 2009 general election it was the sixth largest party in the Lok Sabha with 19 seats; following the 2014 general election, it is currently the fourth largest party in the Lok Sabha with 34 seats.

Formation Of AITC

After remaining with the INC for over 12 years, Mamata Banerjee formed her own party of Bengal, the "Trinamool Congress", which was registered with the Election Commission of India during mid-December 1999. The Election Commission allotted to the party an exclusive symbol of Jora Ghas Phul.

On 2 September 2016 election commission recognized AITC as a national political party.

Party Description

AITC In Indian Politics

Under the leadership of former leader of opposition and current MLA of Tripura, Sudip Roy Barman, 6 MLAs defected from INC along with many ex ministers, ex members of legislative assembly, senior state and district leaders along with thousands of party workers and supporters who joined AITC to fight the communists in Tripura.

Tripura Pradesh Trinamool Congress is working very hard towards reaching its goal of ousting the left front government in Tripura and establish Maa mati manush government in Tripura.

In legislative assembly election(2011)

In the 2011 West Bengal Legislative Assembly election, the Trinamool Congress-led alliance that included the INC and SUCI(C) won 227 seats in the 294-seat legislature. Trinamool Congress alone won 184 seats, enabling it to govern without an alliance. Subsequently, it won a by-election in Basirhat and two Congress MLAs switched to TMC, giving it a total of 187 seats.
Now the party is trying to get a National Party Status, expanding its base in Tripura, Assam, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Kerala,Sikkim, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh. The party is now main opposition party in Manipur. In Kerala, the party contested from five seats in 2014 general elections.
On 18 September 2012, TMC Chief, Mamata Banerjee, announced her decision to withdraw support to the UPA after the TMC's demands to undo government-instituted changes including FDI in retail, increase in the price of diesel and limiting the number of subsidised cooking gas cylinders for households, were not met.
In the 1998 Lok Sabha polls, TMC won 8 seats.In the next Lok Sabha election that was held in 1999, Trinamool Congress won 8 seats with BJP, thus increasing its tally by one.In 2000, TMC won the Kolkata Municipal Corporation Elections. In the 2001 Vidhan Sabha elections, TMC won 60 seats with Congress(I).In the 2004 Lok Sabha elections, TMC won 1 seat with BJP.In the 2006 Vidhan Sabha elections, TMC won 30 seats with BJP.
In the 2011 West Bengal Legislative Assembly election, TMC won a majority of 184 seats (out of 294). Mamata Banerjee became the Chief Minister. In the following 2016 West Bengal Legislative Assembly election, TMC retains its majority and won 211 seats (out of 294).

All India Trinamool Congress's Leaders