What is the election process of vice president in India.

India is a democratic country every 5 years after elected a new government like Loksabha Rajaya sabha election president election state election and low level more election are elected in India like this process vice president election also held after every 5 year we know the process of vice president election process in below.
Vice-Presidential Election 2017: The tenure of Vice-President Hamid Ansari is ending on August 10, 2017. According to the Election Commission of India, an election to fill the vacancy after August 10 needs to be completed before the expiration of the term of Ansari. The Opposition parties have nominated former West Bengal Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi as their candidate. The ruling NDA is yet to announce its candidate. According to the election laws, notification for the vice-presidential election needs to be issued on, or as soon as conveniently may be after, the 60th day before the expiry of the term of the office of the outgoing Vice-President.
As per the Article 324 of the Constitution read with the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952 and the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Rules, 1974, the responsibility of the “superintendence, direction and control” the Vice-Presidential election lie with the Election Commission of India. The Election is also required to ensure that the election to the office of the Vice-President of India is a free and fair election.
Who votes in Vice-Presidential election
The Vice-President of India is elected by the members of an Electoral College, consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The nominated Members of Rajya Sabha as well as of Lok Sabha can also participate in the election.
To contest in the Vice-Presidential election, an aspiring candidate must
be a citizen of India
have completed 35 years of age
be qualified for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha
not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any local government (Offices of President and Vice-President, Governor of any State and Ministers of Union or State are exceptions)
Electoral College for the present Vice-Presidential election 2017:
According to the Election Commission, the Electoral College for this year’s election consists of the following members:
From Rajya Sabha: 233 elected and 12 nominated members
From Lok Sabha, 543 elected and 2 nominated.
The total members in the Electoral College are 790
Election process
The value of each vote in the Vice-Presidential election is one. Ballot paper, containing names of the contesting candidate, is used for the election. The ballot paper doesn’t contain any party symbol. It has two columns — one containing the name of the candidate and the second for marking the order of preference.
As per the number of contesting candidates, the voters can mark as many preferences (e.g. 1,2,3,4,5…) against the names of the candidates as they want.
The winning candidate has to get a required quota of votes, which is 50% of the total valid votes +1. For example, if 790 valid votes are polled, the quota will be 790/2+1= 396. If a candidate gets 396 first preference votes in the first round of counting, s/he will be the winner.
Returning Officer
The Election Commission has appointed the Secretary General to the Rajya Sabha as the Returning Officer for the election.
The Election Commission issued the notification for the Vice-Presidential election on July 4. The last date for making nominations is July 18. On August 5, the poll for the Vice-Presidential election, if needed, would be held. Counting will be done on the same day. The poll can be cancelled if the all parties nominate a consensus candidate.
Nomination paper and security deposit
The contesting candidates need to submit the nomination paper to the Returning Officer at New Delhi at the place to be specified by him by a public notice either by the candidate or by any of his proposers or seconders between 11.00 a.m. and 3.00 p.m.
The nomination paper of a candidate needs to be subscribed by at least twenty electors as proposers and at least another twenty electors as seconders. An elector can subscribe to only one nomination paper of a candidate as either a proposer or seconder. The security deposit for the election is Rs 15,000, which has to be paid along with the nomination paper.
While elected MPs and MLAs vote in the Presidential election, the VP is elected by only the members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.
Nominated members of Parliament can’t vote in the Presidential election. But they can do so to elect the VP.
The Electoral College for the election of the vice-president consists of the following members:
Rajya Sabha: Elected = 233, Nominated = 12
Lok Sabha: Elected = 543, Nominated = 2
Total = 790
A candidate needs 20 electors as proposers and at least another 20 electors as seconders for his nomination. The candidate also has to make a security deposit of Rs. 15,000.
. After the election has been held and the votes have been counted, the Returning Officer declares the result of the election. Thereafter, he reports the result to the Central Government (Ministry of Law & Justice) and the Election Commission of India and the Central Government publishes the name of the person elected as Vice-President, in the Official Gazette.
Disputes regarding Election of the Vice-President:
1. All doubts and disputes arising in connection with the election of the Vice-President are enquired into and decided by the Supreme Court of India whose decision is final.
2. A petition challenging the election of the Vice-President is heard by a five-judge bench of the Supreme Court of India.
3. The petition has necessarily to be accompanied by a security deposit of Rs. 20,000/-.
Text of Oath of Affirmation by the Vice-President:
"I, ________ do swear in the name of God that I will bear true faith and allegiance to solemnly affirm the Constitution of India as by law established and that I will faithfully discharge the duty upon which I am about to enter."
*The electoral college for electing the President of India comprises of only the elected members of Parliament and State Legislative Assemblies.
**The Constitution provides an outer limit of six months (Article 62) for election to the office of the President of India under these circumstances

Tags: vice president India election