About Uttarakhand State Legislative Assembly

Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat Doiwala
Governor Krishan Kant Paul
Ruling Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Opposition Party Indian National Congress
Parliamentary Constituencies 5
Assembly Constituencies 70
Chief Electoral Officer Radha Raturi

This state is governed by a Legislative assembly containing 70 members.The member of a legislative assembly will have to serve the office for a period of 5 years. It is the duty of the Legislative Assembly to elect a speaker who would preside over all the meetings conducted by the legislature. The President of India would have the right to appoint the Governor of the state. The Chief Minister is considered as the most supreme in a state and the Chief Minister of the state would lead its administration.

About Uttarakhand Political History

The Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly also known as the Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha, (Hindi: उत्तराखण्ड विधानसभा) is a unicameral governing and law making body of Uttarakhand, one of the 29 States in India, and is situated at Dehradun, the interim state capital of Uttarakhand, with 71 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). Following the Bharatiya Janata Party's historic win in 2017 election, the current Chief Minister of Uttarakhand and Leader of the House is Trivendra Singh Rawat. The Speaker of the Assembly is Premchand Aggarwal. Krishan Kant Paul is the current Governor of Uttarakhand. From 27 March 2016 to 12 May 2016, Uttarakhand was under President's Rule.

State Legislative Assembly of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand has a unicameral legislature comprising one house only, that is, the State Legislative Assembly, which is also known as the Vidhan Sabha. The assembly consists of 70 directly elected members and one nominated member from the Anglo Indian community. The members of the state assembly are elected every five years. The total number of constituencies in the state is 70. The seat of the Legislative Assembly is at state capital Dehradun. Uttarakhand is represented in Indian Parliament by five directly elected members of the Lok Sabha and three indirectly elected members of the Rajya Sabha. The Speaker of the current Legislative assembly is Govind Singh Kunjwal. Harish Rawat is the chief minister and Krishan Kant Paul is the Governor of the state.

Constituencies in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand has 70 state assembly constituencies out of which 13 are reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes and 2 are reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled tribes. Some of the constituencies in the state are Purola, Yamnotri, Gangotri, Badrinath, Karnprayag, Kedarnath, Rudraprayag, Deoprayag, Ghanshali, Narendranagar, Pratapnagar, Tehri, Dhanolti, Chakrata, Vikasnagar, Dharampur, Rishikesh, Hardwar, Roorkee,Pauri, Yamkeshwar, Gangolihat, Nainital, Bageshwar, Almora, Lohaghat, Haldwani, Kaladhungi, Kashipur, Rudrapur, Khatima, and Nanak Matta .

Political Parties in Uttarakhand

The Bharatiya Janata Party, The Indian National congress, The Bahujan Samaj Party, Uttarakhand Kranti Dal